1sunfight’s Weblog

February 9, 2010

A Return to Activism

During the general election of 2008 in the United States, and for some months afterward, I blogged about events of that period, but after what was a grueling two year period my blogging turned more into a personal journal and a series of political cartoons, and videos.  I took a hiatus from blogging about American politics and issues that interested me for eight months.  During my hiatus I looked for work since I lost my job during what is now becoming called The Great Recession.  I still have not found work, but I have confidence that I will find work, even if I have to return to what I did while I was in college.  After taking this break I have decided to return to blogging about current events.

          My blog will be a little a different this time.  I have invited people I met through the BBC and asked them to contribute entries about issues and subjects that are important to them, since some are from outside of the United States the blog will take on a more international flavor.  I believe this will keep the blog more interesting to read and not as focused on just the United States and only things that interest me.  So far, I will have one person writing in from Mexico from time to time and another person contributing from Belgium.  I look forward to reading what they have to say and to having a diverse, fresh blog.  I am hoping to add more people from across the United States, Canada, and even Australia in the coming days.

          I was spurned to return to writing and debating after venturing off into other venues that are designed more for blurbs than actual articles, or entries.  After a while I found them lacking and not substantive enough for me.  I needed a venue to fully express myself.  The moment came recently that finally propelled me back into the blogosphere, that moment came visa-vie Sarah Palin.  It became glaringly apparent the other night, as I watched her give a key note speech at the first Tea Party convention and the following morning on FOX News where she is now a part time commentator, that it still has not registered with her that she lost the 2008 presidential election and that she is not the President of the United States, Barack Obama won and is the president.  The final straw came as I listened to her diatribe on FOX News where she began demanding, then ordering President Obama to go to war with Iran, if he did not do that, then face certain defeat in the 2012 election.  I was outraged by her comments, her arrogance, and utter self-importance.  It was then I knew it was time to return to my blog to write, to write about current events, to write about the world around me, and to invite the world to write with me.

          I hope you enjoy my blog in the days and months to come.

Bookmark and Share

1 Comment »

  1. JP-
    That’s kind of what got me back on the keyboard, too. Good to see you’re back.
    Rey

    Comment by ReyMac — February 9, 2010 @ 5:15 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

