1sunfight’s Weblog

March 19, 2009

The Morning Headline

Lately I have been boycotting the news, especially cable news; it has been too dismal for me.  I do read the news websites and the local paper to stay informed, but this morning I wish I had passed on reading the screaming headline on it along with the accompanying story.  The headline this morning read that the state of Georgia’s unemployment rate is now at 9.3%, with the city of Atlanta shedding the most jobs in the last month.  That is not the kind of news I wanted to read first thing in the morning.  In fact, it is not news that I wanted to read at all.  If anything, I would have preferred that the headline read the unemployment rate went down or at least remained stagnant. 

When I spoke with a friend of mine who is in human resources the other day he told me that overall people are not getting interviewed, so I should be grateful for those I am getting.  He has read my resume and says it is a strong resume with great skills, which helps in today’s job market.  That is some consolation, but with today’s headline I wonder will it be enough.

I have been on three job interviews in the last six and a half weeks.  The first one was tepid to say the least; the third was a bait and switch.  I went in expecting to interview for one position and was presented with another totally unrelated job in a completely different industry.  I was not happy with being deceived.  I smiled politely and left.  The second interview went extremely well, but still no response.  I will give the person through today before I call him to learn the outcome.  I already have a feeling what the answer is going to be, that I am over-qualified, but in today’s job market I will ask anyway, especially since the interview was so strong.  Hope springs eternal.

After six weeks of waiting I finally started receiving unemployment benefits.  I was beginning to think that I had been denied it, but they were just slow in getting me payments.  With an extension in unemployment becoming available I should be able to go into next spring without a job providing I do not find one in the mean time.  It may not be much consolation, but at least I know I will have somewhere to live, a car to drive, and food to eat while I look for a job and ride out the recession.

Atlanta Journal Constitution

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

