1sunfight’s Weblog

January 10, 2009

Even the Most Successful

Recently Oprah made an admission about weight gain that she had put on 40 pounds, and was overweight again.  She was having a difficult time accepting something that she thought she had put behind her, the battle with weight.  The immediate fall out after her admission was talking openly and honestly about her “weight problem”.  I would expect that from her as her struggle with weight has been very public for at least two decades that I can think of, and that many women and men look to her for honest candor on such a personal struggle that, it seems, most can identify with and that she has been a help to.

On her struggle with weight she wrote:

Oprah says money, fame and success don’t mean anything if can’t control your own being.  “It doesn’t mean anything if you can’t fit into your clothes,” she says.  “It means fat won.  It means you didn’t win…I am mad at myself.  I am embarrassed.”

After all these years, Oprah says she can’t believe she’s still discussing this topic.  “With all of the other things that I know how to do and all the other things that I’m so great at and all the other accomplishments, I can’t believe I’m still talking about weight,” she says.

Oprah.com

Her admission got to me thinking about another successful woman who had an admission in her book Moving Beyond Words or I believe it was in that book.  In her book Gloria Steinem wrote about why she wore her glasses the way she did in the 1970’s and 1980’s during her heyday as a feminist icon in the women’s movement.  She used to use the frames of her glasses to pull her hair closer to her face in order to obscure her face because there was something about the her appearance of her face that she did not like, so with her hair covering face she was able to hide this perceived imperfection.  She wrote that even with all of her success at that time she was still ashamed of the way she looked.  Eventually she overcame this and chalked it up to low self esteem.

Now I am not saying that Oprah suffers from low self esteem, or even Gloria Steinem for that matter, but I find it quite revealing that even in this day and age women and men still struggle with this need to perfect, even in the face of overwhelming success and I am not just talking about external factors, but internal ones as well.  Both of these women have been enormously successful at improving the lives of countless people, but still they had or still have their demons.  So I asked myself, why in the face of all evidence to the contrary is even the most successful struggle with perceived imperfections?  The only reasonable answer that I can arrive at is that there is so much pressure to be perfect at everything that we do that what is thought of as attainable for a mere mortal is not attainable in the glare of day light, and that the simple act of practicing acceptance is not acceptable, even for the most successful.  

Bookmark and Share

1 Comment »

  1. Hi, I love your blog. You have a flair of unique insight. Personally, I think that we all will always have some kind of demons because we’re human. The only time that will stop is when we’re upstairs, if you know what I mean. I’d like to add you to my blogroll if you don’t mind? Let me know, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Comment by House — January 10, 2009 @ 6:38 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

