1sunfight’s Weblog

December 31, 2008

New Year’s Resolutions 2009

Filed under: Daily Observations,Uncategorized — Julie P @ 3:18 am
Tags: ,

Why do we do it?  Why does any do it?  Why do we make New Year resolutions?  It is not like we wake up on January 1st and become someone we only read about.  The only explanation that I can think of is that we want to become better people and making New Year’s resolutions is one of achieving this.  So I sit here on the eve of New Year’s Eve contemplating what resolutions that I will make that will make me a better person, in my eyes anyway.

In the last two years I have made New Year’s resolutions and I have kept most of them.  I have not made it to Machu Picchu; I tried to go there last spring, but once I learned how much it would cost me I chose to go to Stonehenge instead.  That is one resolution broken, but Stonehenge was an acceptable substitute.  I did make the resolution to drive the Blue Ridge Parkway up to Monticello, but gas prices got much too high for my liking, so I put it on the back burner, but overall I manage to keep the ones I make.  So what will it be this year?

I have been wanting to go back to college and get an MBA, but that is something that will not be achieved in one year, and having gone to college I know it higher education is a step by step process, so this year I resolve to take the GMAT.  Nothing big, just the GMAT. 

I have wanted to drive the Blue Ridge Parkway to Monticello, so instead of a foreign vacation, like I have done over the last five years, it will be a drive up the Blue Ridge to take a tour of the president’s homes in Virginia.  It will be strange not take a vacation that does not involve a plane and a passport, but I will give it a whirl.

What is one other thing that I have always wanted to do, but have not?  It must be something attainable.  I resolve to attend more cultural events, like seeing exhibits at the High Museum of Art and attending more concerts given by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra.

Yes, that is it.  Attainable, all of them are attainable. 

Bookmark and Share

2 Comments »

  1. Good luck on the GMAT! I’m studying, too. I’ve had a lot of luck with Veritas GMAT Prep: http://www.veritasprep.com

    Comment by dorenta — December 31, 2008 @ 6:09 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

