1sunfight’s Weblog

September 28, 2008

Atlanta Gas Shortage Enters Third Week

Like many people in Atlanta I have grown weary of the gas shortage. I am confident that I am not alone in stifling the urge to panic and become desperate as the area’s gas shortage enters into its third week.

Since Hurricane Ike struck I have done everything in my power to conserve gas. Because the situation is so severe, especially in the county where I live since it is the hardest hit in the Atlanta metropolitan area during this crisis, I only drive to and from my job, stop at the grocery store, and make other essential trips that are within a half mile from my apartment. For now, all I can do is conserve while I wait for the crisis to pass.

Of course, none of this stops me from wondering why this gas shortage continues unabated and why this hurricane has made this gas shortage so much more worse than after Hurricane Katrina when the gas pipes were damaged, but not with this hurricane.

In the Atlanta news I have not been able to find a concrete answer as to when we can expect the crisis to end other than it could be days, another week, or we have no idea. I have heard about the disruption in the gas lines and that they are at 80 percent capacity and that there are four more refineries that have not, but are about to, start back up, which will bring the gas lines back to full capacity. That is part of the answer, but not the entire answer.

I became extremely aggravated when I watched this video clip of the gas shortage on CNN at a gas station located just miles from where I live. I immediately went to the local news and saw very little, if nothing, to assure me when this will or could end, or something, anything to help. Finally on WXII Winston-Salem I got the answers I was looking for.

The gas lines had been shut down for Hurricane Gustav that happened just over a week before Hurricane Ike struck. That means that although there was gas around there was not much; given that with a second shut down in a very short time that put a lot of demand on a very small supply that went quickly. That said with power outages in Houston that delayed refineries from getting back online quickly that exacerbated the situation, including that gas supplies are at an eighteen year low. According to Gulf Coast refineries it could take up to another month to have the southeast back to normal.

CNN

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

