1sunfight’s Weblog

August 30, 2008

The Truth About Sarah Palin

If you are looking for the mark of a statesman here it is: Democratic nominee, Barack Obama, in his first ad since the Democratic Convention does not lambast McCain’s vice presidential nominee; in fact, he does not even mention her name. In his ad he stays on message that McCain is more of the same failed Bush policies, a message that is as true today as it was yesterday. However, if you are looking to learn more about Sarah Palin from one of her constituents, then you may want to check out this Alaskan’s views on her and learn the truth and forget the spin.

Spin: She has a 90% approval rating.

Truth: Yes, she’s a popular governor. Her all time high approval rating hovered around 90% at one point. But bear in mind that the 90% approval rating came from one of the most conservative, and reddest-of-the-red states out there. And that approval rating came before a series of events that have lead many Alaskans to question the governor’s once pristine image.

Spin: That she is qualified.

Truth: Just months ago, when rumors surfaced that she was on the long version of the short list, she was questioned if she’d be interested in the position. She said she couldn’t answer “until somebody answers for me what is it exactly that the VP does every day. I’m used to being very productive and working real hard in an administration.

Spin: That she wants to drill in the ANWR region for oil.

Truth: Yes, she does and so does every other politician in Alaska.

Does she want to open ANWR? Yes. Every politician in Alaska wants to open ANWR. It’s basically a requirement if you ever hope to get elected for anything. Even Mark Begich, the progressive Democrat running against the indicted Senator and Alaskan institution Ted Stevens, is pro-drilling. That’s the sea we swim in up here. There are a few anti-drilling folks, but you have to look hard to find them, and work hard to have them admit it.

If you want to learn more about Sarah Palin read this one Alaskan’s views.

5 Comments »

  1. You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the insight from everyone who participates. I find it to be refreshing and very informative. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I felt it was about time I posted, Ive spent most of my time here just lurking and reading, but today for some reason I just felt compelled to say this.

    Comment by Jamie Holts — August 30, 2008 @ 11:58 pm

  2. Thank you. I strive to put out as much accurate information as I am able to find and verify. What infuriates me about the web is the amount of ill thought out trash there available.

    Comment by Julie P — August 31, 2008 @ 12:04 am

  3. I’m interested in hearing how women voters,particularly Hillary’s supporters, are looking at McCain’s VP pick. Do they view it as pandering to women voters or are they only interested in seeing a woman in the White House no matter who it is?

    Comment by Haas — August 31, 2008 @ 3:45 pm

  4. I think John McCain has made a great move in selecting Sarah Palin. In our eyes it looks as though he may be pandering to women, but an educated eye will read between the lines of a slanted media. Obama’s message of “four more years of the same”, has played itself out as I think we will soon see in the debates. John McCain is about as center of the road as they come these days. Yes, he’s Republican, its easy to tag him with Bush policy isn’t it; but, John McCain wants to bring the importance of country back into politics, I strongly feel that many on the “hill” are quivering in their shoes because McCain will change the way buisness is conducted. The best way to support him in his effort is to bring a fresh face to Washington, someone who isn’t jaded from years of talking a big game and then doing nothing. Palin is young in political speak, but has a vigor about her that could be a really positive thing for both sides of the isle. I was a big fan of Hillary because I think she has that same fire about her to change the way our govt. conducts buisness. Don’t get me wrong, Palin and Clinton have some very different views and personaly I do think it is time for our nation to allow a woman to lead this country but personal views aside…Democrats think a junior senator with a very small voting record to his name is ready to lead our country right out of the gate. At least Palin has served as a govenor, she has actually made policy decisions, and just because she is from Alaska…we want to belittle her credintials, In retrospect…I’m a poor hard working citizen of the United States…the past four years haven’t been all that bad. Not as bad as the media would like us to think. Have we failed in our foreign policy, I don’t think we will truly know for many years to come. I do know that if we back away from those who wish to attack us on our soil, we give them the touchdown. What would you do if you were president? John McCain will continue to keep our taxes low. He will increase taxes to “Big Oil”…despite what the commercials may say. Sarah Palin has already placed higher taxes on big oil. Together I think they can actually cut pork barrel spending in our country; a problem that is on both sides of the isle. Listen, I think Obama has a fighting chance here. He has great speach writers and a strong desire to become President and the truth is, his VP would actually make a great President…I would definately support Biden. It frustrates me that the Democrates are trying to target middle class workers such as myself, why does it have to be about us. How about the poor in this country, or how about the rich who have to pay AMT as a penalty for making to much money? Like I said before, I make pennies on the dollar compared to most people in this country and I’d be dammed if I handed over my income on the grounds of I made to much. When will American citizens take a little responsibility for their own country and actually do something responsible. Placing the label of “Four more years of the same” on a candidate who hasn’t taken office yet is not only unfair…but sounds a bit uneducated…we all want change, and I think John McCain has brought the right running mate to the table to get it done. Thanks for letting me vent.

    Comment by Aaron — September 1, 2008 @ 4:58 am

  5. you are a biased republican snob obviously. Lets see, first the War. Anyone with half a brain now knows that it was a bad idea. No link to 9/11, fighting the war on terror is like fighting the war on felons, its not a country its individuals. The Bush admin gave tax breaks to big oil ccause the Bush family and friends are vested in oil!!, HELLO!? ITs about whats fair about the taxes not lets take more from one group vs another like Bush has done. Your thing about “us”, did you see Obamas speach?, its about you and me not certain groups.

    Comment by SteveW — September 1, 2008 @ 12:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

